About

Experience Matters

Benefit from our more than 200 years of combined professional investment management and financial planning experience

Clients First

In 1996, Michael Farr left Alex Brown & Sons to start a new client-focused firm. Michael recognized that the “fiduciary standard,” requiring that the best interest of the client be the legal obligation of the advisor, was the most ethical and responsible approach to meeting client needs. The “suitability standard” still employed at brokerage firms that calls for investment recommendations to be “appropriate” though not necessarily cost effective wasn’t consistent with the highest levels of client care. Shortly thereafter, Elmon “Sunny” Miller, John Washington and Susan Cantus decided to join him to create Farr, Miller & Washington, Investment Counsel.  

Michael built this firm around a client-first culture and a fiduciary duty to act solely in the interest of the client. This mindset has helped guide clients through a variety of vastly different markets over the past 20+ years. The future is always uncertain, and emotion is the foe of the long-term investor. Let our team of tenured and credentialed investment professionals build a plan for meeting your needs and achieving your financial goals.

Your Farr, Miller & Washington Team

The key to providing exceptional service to clients is a great team of caring, dedicated professionals. We have a talented and experienced team. The longevity and stability of our practitioners ensure the continuous and consistent application of our financial planning and investment processes and the high level of service that our clients deserve.

Michael K. Farr

Michael K. Farr

Founder, President & Chief Executive Officer
mfarr@farrmiller.com
Taylor McGowan, CFA

Taylor McGowan, CFA

Chief Investment Officer, Portfolio Manager
tmcgowan@farrmiller.com
Michael Fox, CPA CFP® CFA

Michael Fox, CPA CFP® CFA

Chief Financial Officer, Portfolio Manager, Analyst
mfox@farrmiller.com
Susan Cantus

Susan Cantus

Chief Compliance Officer
scantus@farrmiller.com
Caroline Savage

Caroline Savage

Director of Client Services
csavage@farrmiller.com
Keith Davis, CFA

Keith Davis, CFA

Chief Economist, Portfolio Manager, Analyst
kdavis@farrmiller.com
Gretchen Zierolf, CFP®

Gretchen Zierolf, CFP®

Director of Business Development, Portfolio Manager
gzierolf@farrmiller.com
Scott Stroud

Scott Stroud

Portfolio Manager, Fixed Income
sstroud@farrmiller.com
Alexis McComb, CFP®

Alexis McComb, CFP®

Senior Vice President, Portfolio Manager
amccomb@farrmiller.com
Michael Feldman, CFP®

Michael Feldman, CFP®

Senior Vice President, Portfolio Manager
mfeldman@farrmiller.com
Paul Redclift

Paul Redclift

Vice President of Business Development
predclift@farrmiller.com
John McGeehan

John McGeehan

Vice President of Business Development
jmcgeehan@farrmiller.com

In Memoriam

Elmon A. Miller

Elmon A. Miller

Founder, Managing Director Emeritus
1918-2014
John A. Washington

John A. Washington

Founder, Managing Director Emeritus
1920-2020

Awards

The greatest award we receive is a client recommending us to friends or family.   Here are some others: